The power of language

English: NASA StarChild image of Stephen Hawking.

English: NASA StarChild image of Stephen Hawking. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I am reading one of the best books I ever had the chance to get, a brief history of time, by Stephen Hawking. It is the first time in my life I face such a deep knowledge of Physics, as that is not my subject, and I must say I am pretty much enjoying it! I obviously lack the knowledge needed to understand it all, but Mr Hawking has done an incredible work to make ignorant people like me understand a bit about black holes and imaginary time.

 The majority of us think of his disability when we refer to Mr Hawking. It might not be politically correct but it is something that comes into our  minds, and we tend to pity disabled people in a way.

 Handicapped people may have to prove even more than the rest of us, and Mr Hawking sitting on his wheelchair seems a very interesting oddity, as many people think a physical disability also means a mental one.

 I pity the fool who pities Mr Hawking

 After a couple of paragraphs and the book got me hooked, and how he expresses himself is the main reason. I could expect from such a personality to write perfectly well, but I didn’t really expect him to be so funny and interesting when discussing quantum physics!

 He gives his personal opinion to topics not necessarily related to physics and I found really funny his sarcasm when talking about the Vatican and their position to his work.

Just going through his work, I soon discovered a very smart person with a great personality, someone who I’d love to have a chat with, even if we only talked about the weather or any small talk, as some people can really make magic with their words.

Find a solution

And the inspiration for this article came to me when he actually mentioned his disability in the book, saying that once in a conference people could not understand his voice, but he received the help of one of his own students to translate to the audience.

We all have some magic words to spell, but we often get struck in our own limitations. Babies and very wise men don’t, and there is a reason for this. We must be either very wise or very innocent to understand that the language is the most powerful tool we have.

Mr Hawking has been speaking tremendously well for over decades, even when he might need some help from a computer or a colleague, but the important lesson here is that words are so powerful they can still send the message across no matter what our limitations are.

Always remember that words make us unique, and that we can always find a strategy in order not to surrender.

Keep Talking, Keep Thinking!

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 comments

Leave a Reply

